Short Story Competitions Across the UK

August 28, 2018

Name- Frequency- Cost of Entry- Top Prize- Link

  • Alsina- Varies- Free- £50- http://www.alsinapublishing.com/

  • Audio Arcadia- Varies- £.5.50- Royalty Percentage- http://www.audioarcadia.com/

  • Dark Tales- Monthly- £.250-£100- http://darktales.co.uk/

  • Edit Crowd- Quarterly- FREE-£25- https://www.editcrowd.co.uk/

  • Future History- Varies- Free- Varies- https://englandsfuturehistory.wordpress.com/

  • Henshaw Press- Quarterly- £5- £100- http://henshawpress.co.uk/

  • Michael Terence- Varies- £5-£300- http://henshawpress.co.uk/

  • Park Publications- Quarterly- £3 or Free for Subscribers- £75- http://www.parkpublications.co.uk/competitions.html

  • RWL- Quarterly- Free- £100- https://www.readerwriterlounge.com/

  • Solutions Loans- Bianually- Free- £200- http://www.solution-loans.co.uk/competitions/

  • Monkey Collecting- Quarterly- Free- Varies- http://themonkeycollective.com/

  • Squat Pen Rests- Quarterly- £3-£500- http://stephentuffin.co.uk/

  • Vanda 'n' Linda's Writing Space- Biannually- £6-£250- https://www.vnlwritespace.com/

  • Writing World- Varies- £5-£100- http://www.thewritingworld.co.uk/

  • Writers Bureau- Varies-Varies-Varies- http://www.wbcompetition.com/

  • Writers Forum- Monthly- £6 or £3 for members- £300- http://www.writers-forum.com/comps.html

  • Writing Magazine- Monthly-Varies- Varies- https://www.writers-online.co.uk/Writing-Competitions/

Prestigious

  • Bath- Deadline April- £8-£1200- https://www.bathshortstoryaward.org/

  • BBC Short Story- Deadline March- Free- £15,000- http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/articles/9sv29fKqQrSTQWndd7Z9pq/the-bbc-national-short-story-award-2018-with-cambridge-university (Only for previously published author)

  • Bridport- Deadline May- £10- £5000- https://www.bridportprize.org.uk/content/competition

  • Bristol- Deadline May- £8-£1000- https://www.bristolprize.co.uk/

  • Christopher Fielden's To Hull and Back- Deadline July- £11-£1000- https://www.christopherfielden.com/short-story-competition/

  • Commonwealth Short Story- Deadline November- Free- £2,500 for Regional and £5,000 for overall- https://www.christopherfielden.com/short-story-competition/

  • Costa Short Story- Deadline August- Free- £3500- https://www.costa.co.uk/costa-book-awards/costa-short-story-award/

  • Dragonfly Tea- Deadline July- Free- £1500- https://dragonflytea.com/

  • High Sheriff's Cheshire- Deadline September- Free-£2000- http://www.chester.ac.uk/literatureprize Must be from Cheshire, Wirral, Warrington and Halton

  • InkTears- Varies- £6-£1000- http://www.inktears.com/

  • London- Deadline October- £5-£1000- https://www.spreadtheword.org.uk/    

  • Magic Oxygen- Deadline December- £5- £1000- http://www.magicoxygen.co.uk/

  • Manchester Writing Competition- Deadline August- £17- £10000- http://www.manchesterwritingcompetition.co.uk/

  • Mogford Literary Prize- Deadline January- £10-£10000- https://www.oxford-hotels-restaurants.co.uk/mogford-prize/

  • Reader's Digest 100 Words- Deadline February- Free- £1000- http://www.readersdigest.co.uk/100-word-story-competition

  • Royal Society of Literature v Pritchett Memorial- Deadline June- £5- £1000- http://rsliterature.org/award/v-s-pritchett-memorial-prize/

  • Scottish Arts Club- Deadline March- £10-£1000- http://sacctrust.org/

  • Sunday Times EFG- Deadline September- Free- £300000- http://shortstoryaward.co.uk/- Only for previously published author

  • Short Story: Cambridge- Varies-£8- £1000- http://www.theshortstory.co.uk/

  • Tom-Gallon Trust- Deadline October- Free- £1000- http://www.societyofauthors.org/Prizes/Fiction/Tom-Gallon

  • White Review- Deadline March- £15- £2,500- http://www.thewhitereview.org/

 

Annual

  • Arkbound- Deadline November- £3-£100- http://arkbound.com/writing-competition/

  • Chiplist Fest- Deadline February-Varies- £500- https://www.chiplitfest.com/short-story-competition

  • Cinnamon Press- Deadline May- £12- Mentoring- http://www.cinnamonpress.com/

  • Claret Press MNDA- Deadline June- £6-£250- https://www.claretpress.com/

  • Comma Press- Deadline October- Free- £500- http://www.coniumreview.com/contests.html

  • Creative Writing Matters- Varies-Varies-Varies- http://www.creativewritingmatters.co.uk/

  • Crediton- Deadline April- Varies- Varies- http://credfest.co.uk/

  • CWA Margery Allingham- Deadline February- £12- £500- https://thecwa.co.uk/

  • Doris Gooderson-Deadline July- £5-£200- https://thecwa.co.uk/

  • Early Works Press- Deadline October- £5/£10- £200- http://wrekinwriters.wordpress.com/doris-gooderson-short-story-competition/

  • Grindstone International- Deadline September- £10-£500- http://www.grindstoneliterary.com/

  • H. E Bates- Varies- £6-£500- http://www.hebatescompetition.org.uk/

  • H. G Wells- Deadline July- £10-Varies- https://hgwellscompetition.com/

  • Hysteria Writing- Deadline August- £5-£150- http://www.hysterectomy-association.org.uk/hysteria-writing-competition/

  • Kosta's Olive Tree- Deadline September- £4- £70- http://kostasolivetree.co.uk/

  • Leicester Writes- Deadline April-£7-£100- http://leicesterwrites.co.uk/

  • Limnisa Short Story- Deadline April- Free- Holiday to Greece- http://www.limnisa.com/

  • London Magazine- Deadline Varies- £10-£500- http://www.thelondonmagazine.org/

  • MJ Meads- Deadline March- Free- E-Reader- http://www.mjmeads.com/

  • Momaya Press- Deadline April- £12- £110- http://momayapress.com/momaya-short-story-competition

  • Norwich Writers' Circle- Deadline July- £8- £40- https://norwichwriters.wordpress.com/

  • Nottingham Writers' Club- Deadline February-£5- £200- http://www.nottinghamwritersclub.org.uk/

  • Oh Zoe! Rising Talent Award- Deadline March- Free- £500- http://www.ohzoe.com/

  • Ouen Press- Varies- Free- £300- http://www.ouenpress.com/

  • Plymouth Writers'- Deadline January-£5-£250- https://plymouthwritersgroup.uk/

  • Rejected Manuscripts- Deadline December- Free- Share of Profits- https://rejectedmanuscripts.org/

  • Remastered Words- Deadline May- Free- £75- http://www.remasteredwords.com/

  • Retreat West- Deadline September- £15-£350- http://www.retreatwest.co.uk/

  • Ryedale Book Festival- Deadline March- Free- £250- https://www.blackthornpress.com/

  • SaveAs Writers- Deadline August- £4-£200- http://www.saveaswriters.co.uk/

  • Shooter Literary Magazine- Deadline April- £7- £500- http://shooterlitmag.com/

  • Short Fiction Literary Journal- Deadline March- £8-£500- http://www.shortfictionjournal.co.uk/

  • Southport Writers- Deadline October- £3-£150- http://www.swconline.co.uk/

  • Storgy- Varies-Varies-Varies- http://storgy.com/

  • Tacchi-Morris- Deadline May- £5-£100- http://tacchi-morris.com/

  • Tamworth Literary Festival- Deadline March- £4-£100- https://tamlitfest.wordpress.com/

  • Short Story Competition- Deadline September- £8-£500- http://www.theshortstory.net/

  • Wasifiri New Writing- Deadline July- £5-£300- https://www.wasafiri.org/

  • Wells Literary Festival- Deadline June- £6- £750- http://www.wellsfestivalofliterature.org.uk/

  • Willesden Herald- Deadline August- £5- Divided Prize/Published- http://willesdenherald.blogspot.co.uk/

  • Willowdown Books- Deadline March- $18-$100-http://www.willowdownbooks.com/

  • Winchester Writers- Varies- Varies- Varies- http://writersfestival.co.uk/competitions

  • Words For the Wounded- Varies- Varies- Varies- http://wordsforthewounded.co.uk/

  • Words with Jam- Deadline November- £6-£500- http://www.wordswithjam.co.uk/

  • Writers' and Artists' Yearbook- Deadline February- Free- Writers' Residential Course- http://www.writersandartists.co.uk/competitions

  • Yeovil- Deadline May- £7- £500- http://www.yeovilprize.co.uk/

Please reload

Latest Posts

December 16, 2019

December 15, 2019

November 28, 2019

Please reload

Search By Tags

EDUCATION

FEATURES

COMPETITIONS

USEFUL LINKS

PARTNERS

University Centre Grimsby

VANEL

Kenwick Park Estates

 

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle

CONTACT

Hammond House Publishing ltd. 

University Centre Grimsby  

Nuns Corner, Grimsby  DE 24  5BQ